REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING September 16, 2019

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on September 16, 2019 in the board room at the high school at 6:00 p.m. Board members present: Brittany Dokken, Michael Forsgren, Jon Karger, Brenda Olson, Greg Larson. Board members absent: Anne Peterson. Others present: Superintendent Dr. Ed Richardson, Derrick Nelson, Rudy Martinez, Barb Ripley, Kim Gottenborg, Sheryl Anderson, Cary Haugrud, Charla Seter, Lou Hoglund.

The meeting was called to order by Jon Karger.

Viking Elementary School was commended by the school board for being selected as a School of Excellence.

Greg Larson moved to approve the consent agenda consisting of the following items:

Approve board minutes – August 8 & 19 meetings

Approve financial claims & bills payable-August bills and the treasurer's report Approve donations:

To Viking Elementary for school supplies – Calvary Church \$520

To Viking Elementary for school supplies – VFW Post 5252 \$500

To Pelican Rapids School-Fine Arts Auditorium – West Central Initiative-Pelican Rapids School Foundation \$50,000/Total pledge \$61,961

Personnel:

Hire Mike Douglas as a long-term substitute for Harold Holt starting September 9, 2019

Hire Jodeen Fitzgerald Roberts as a .5 Spanish teacher

Approve the LCSC agreements:

ECFE Services

ECFE Consortium Membership

Community Education

Secondary Vocational Services

Superintendent Mentorship Services

Approve the Collaborative Agreement with WCMCA Head Start for 2019-20 Approve Derrick Nelson as LEA representative for Title and School Continuous Improvement

The motion was seconded by Michael Forsgren and carried.

Jon Karger moved to set the proposed levy for tax year 2020-21 at the maximum amount. The motion was seconded by Greg Larson and carried.

Greg Larson moved to approve the fundraisers and trips for 2019-20. The motion was seconded by Brenda Olson and carried.

Jon Karger moved to set the following regular meeting dates:

January 13, 2020 at 6:00 pm February 10, 2020 at 6:00 pm

The motion was seconded by Brittany Dokken and carried.

Michael Forsgren moved to adjourn the meeting. Dokken and carried.	The motion was seconded by Brittany
Board Chair	Board Clerk